Part 2 - The Articles

Chapter 5 - Ceremonial Council and The Mayor

1. Status and Membership

1.1 The Ceremonial Council is a committee established under Section 101 of the Local Government Act 1972 and comprises the 51 directly elected Councillors meeting as a body (or as many of those Councillors who are in office at the time concerned). While it comprises all Members of the Council, it is not a meeting of the Council as defined in Section 8 and Schedule 12 to the 1972 Act and, as such, its role should not be confused with that of the Assembly.

2. Functions of the Ceremonial Council

- 2.1 The Ceremonial Council has the following functions:
 - (i) Election of the Mayor;
 - (ii) Awarding the Freedom of the Borough;
 - (iii) Awarding the status of Honorary Alderman / Alderwoman;
 - (iv) Making any other special awards.
- 2.2 The awarding of the Freedom of the Borough and status of Honorary Alderman / Alderwoman shall take place at an extraordinary meeting of the Ceremonial Council, called for that specific purpose and in accordance with approved protocols. To carry a motion in respect of the awarding of the Freedom of the Borough and the status of Honorary Alderman / Alderwoman, at least two-thirds overall majority of those Councillors present and voting at the extraordinary meeting must agree in order for the motion to be passed.

3. The Mayor and the Mayor's Term of Office

- 3.1 The Ceremonial Council shall elect a Mayor from the membership of the Council at its annual meeting.
- 3.2 The Mayor shall remain in office until:
 - the election of his/her successor at the next Annual Ceremonial Council meeting, notwithstanding that he/she may cease to be a Councillor by reason of not being re-elected;
 - (b) his/her ceasing to be a Councillor by virtue of being disqualified from office; or
 - (c) his/her removal from office by a resolution of the Assembly. The process to be followed for the removal from office of the Mayor shall be the same process as set out in Part 2, Chapter 4 in respect of a motion to remove the Leader of the Council from office.